Recent Articles

Hannibal Buress Covers The Fader

| April 7, 2015 | 0 Comments


Hometown hero and red-hot comedian Hannibal Buress covers this month’s edition of The Fader. So if you’re keeping score at home, Chance The Rapper, Tink and Hannibal have all graced the cover of The Fader so far in 2015, and it’s only April. Impressive stuff. Chicago is winning from all angles right now.

This sudden exit wasn’t part of Hannibal’s routine when I last saw him, a few weeks earlier, performing a sold-out show in the Brooklyn Academy of Music’s regal opera house. There was a triumphant swagger to Hannibal’s every move that night, as longtime fans from his adopted borough marveled and delighted at how the comedian’s droll, deadpan style had brought him here. He’s been an underground favorite for years, the type of guy you would see around town at bars or concerts or hosting his D.I.Y. comedy showcase a few miles away at the Knitting Factory. Now, legends like Chris Rock and Louis C.K. tip him as the future of comedy. As Hannibal strolled across that vast, fabled stage in Brooklyn, it felt like an intermediary moment before the next level of fame, when he’s starring in his own movies and playing arenas.

He’s on fire. Check out his full cover story piece right here.

Tree – Off Gurl

| April 7, 2015 | 0 Comments


What would a Tuesday be without a new Tree tune? Not a Tuesday I’d want to partake in. A brand new “Treestyle” is here for mass consumption, and he’s calling this one “Off Gurl.” His streak continues.

Don’t forget to check out Tree alongside Chris Crack next week at our show with Red Bull Sound Select. Mystikal is headlining. It’s going to be amazing. You can gain entry for $3 if you RSVP now. Do that.

Continue Reading

Video: Kembe X – Feeling Like The Man

| April 7, 2015 | 0 Comments

Yachts, beautiful women, expensive garments, booze, party favors. Cot damn, from this clip Kembe X sure looks like the man where he’s standing. It’s nice to see this jazzy offering from Kembe brought to life, and it’s another winner for the now LA-based emcee.

Ain’t no party like a Loosie party, indeed.

Video: Pavy – French Riviera

| April 7, 2015 | 0 Comments

Damn, Pavy went ahead and got himself a Playboy Playmate for his new video for “French Riviera.” Paradise, indeed. So for his latest offering, Irina Voronina is on board to supply the eye candy. If you can’t respect that your whole perspective is wack.

If you like what you see and hear, be sure to grab Pav’s R.O.M.E. project on iTunes.

SolarFive – 7GXD5

| April 7, 2015 | 0 Comments

Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 11.28.25 AM

Produced by CHI_VII

Former OnGaud representer SolarFive returns to FSD with this new CHI-produced thumper “7GXD5.” What does it all mean? Well, you can now find out. Mystery solved?

Continue Reading